Skip to main content

Home > Minato city Course (Shirokane-Takanawa) > Zuisho-ji Daio-hoden

Recommendation course

Minato city Course (Shirokane-Takanawa)

3 Zuisho-ji Daio-hoden (Main Hall of Zuisho-ji Temple)

National Cultural Important Properties (Buildings)
Designated on August 10, 1992

Main Hall of Zuisho-ji Temple

Shiun-zan Zuisho-ji Temple was the first Obaku school (Zen Buddhism) Temple in Edo and founded by Mokuan, a pupil of Ingen who founded Manpuku-ji temple in Uji. Aoki Kainokami devoted to Mokuan and arranged the land, and the temple was founded in 1670. The temple buildings were completed in the following year. These original building were destroyed by two fires in 1726 and 1745, after that Daio-hoden was reconstructed in 1757 and other buildings were restored during the Bunka era (1804-1818).

The Daio-hoden is the main hall and located in the center of the precincts.

Since Obaku school was introduced into Japan from China in the Edo period, there are some characteristics had never seen at that time of Japan, for instance, "Getsudai" (a kind of terrace), Kaiban (mokugyo, a wooden fish-shaped drum, hanged outside) and a low door with engraved peach at the entrance. In addition, a double roof, "Fukihanachi" (an open space) in the back and the front of the hall, which looks like outside corridors, the floor which is tiled in "Shihanjiki" way (a kind of way to place square pieces, such as tiles to make all the joints at a 45 degree angle with tatami mats on the both sides. There are also other unique features; a simplified bracket system, many round windows and square pillars.

Zuisho-ji Daio-hoden is very important to be an example of authentic Buddhism architecture in the Edo period.

Opening Information

Open :
All year
Times :
Fee :