Skip to main content

Home > The places associated with Shinsengumi Course > Main Hall of Okunitama-jinja Shrine

Recommendation course

Fuchu City Course (Let's take a stroll around The places associated with Shinsengumi !)

Memories of Shinsengumi in Fuchu City

A famous Japanese novel, "Moeyo Ken" by SHIBA Ryotaro, which is about the life of HIJIKATA Toshizo, starts with the festival of this Okunitama-jinja Shrine. Also KONDO Isami succeeded to the 4th master of Tennnen Rishin Ryu School (a school of swordplay) and his demonstrated match was held on this shrine in 1861.

Fuchu City Map

1 Main Hall of Okunitama-jinja Shrine

Tangible Cultural Properties of Tokyo (Buildings)
Designated on March 31, 1962
Photo />
						<p class=Main Hall ofOkunitama-jinja Shrine

Okunitama-jinja Shrine used to be called "Rokusho-gu" (6shrines), and worshiped as a guardian deity of Musashi Province.

In order to enshrine nine gods included with Okunitama no Okami, six kami (gods) and so on, the main hall of the Okunitama-jinja Shrine is wide and unique, which is jointed the three of buildings with San (3)-gensha Nagare Style (an architecture style of three-bay wide structure with a gable roof), so-called Kyu(9)-kensha Nagare Style or Aidono Style. Now, Okunitama no Okami is enshrined in the central building, other 6 gods are in the east and west.

However, the map of 1606 shows the individual three main buildings, and another record said these buildings were destroyed by the fire in 1646. We consider that the buildings were reconstructed in this present style after the fire. The total length of ridge is about 14m and the height reaches about 9m, vermillionlacquered. The roof had been covered with Hiwadabuki(cypress bark roof) before, and have changed into the copperplate at the end of the Edo period.

These buildings are also a precious example of construction ordered by Shogunate.

Opening Information

Open :
All year (Allowed to look at only the exterior)
Times :
All day (Allowed to look at only the exterior)
Fee :